LAURA'S CARD LAURA’'S CARD LAURA’S CARD

YOU MUST REOUEST THESE RIGHTS LOCAL RESOURCES
10. If available, you have the right to be provided a separate Ozark Rape Crisis Center
waiting area before, during, and after all court 24 hour hotline 1-800-818-1189
proceedings. www.ozarkrapecrisis.com

11 In criminal proceedings, you have a right to request River Valley Shelter for Battered Women & Children

restitution be sought through the prosecutor’s office. 24 hour hotline 1-800-690-4219/1-800-968-3110

12. You have a right to provide a Victim Impact Statement www.rivervalleyshelter.org

at the sentencing hearing. (http:/acic.org)
24 HOUR CRISIS LINES

13. You have the right to be notified on the status of the
alleged or convicted offender. (http://vinelink.com) Centers for Healing Hearts and Spirits
855-6-HELP-4-U 855-643-5748

14. You have a right to be provided with an interpreter CRIME VICTIMS’
RIGHTS & RESPONSIBILITIES
800-977-5776 Confidential

during all court proceedings. Arkansas Coalition Against Sexual Assault

15. Ifthe victim is a minor, incapacitated or deceased, a

member of the victim’s family may exercise these Arkansas State Police Child Abuse

rights. v 800-482-5964 CHIEF KEVIN WEATHERS
National Coalition Against Domestic Violence Clarksville Police Department
B00=103-SURE (233) 1008 W. Main Street
National Human Trafficking ClarkSViHe, AR 72830

888-373-7888 479-754-8100
SHELTER REFERRAL SERVICES www.cpdintra.net

THROUGH EXERCISING THESE RIGHTS,
YOU MAY FIND HEALING.

Arkansas Coalition Against Domestic Violence .
800-269-4668 If yYou are in danger

www.domesticpeace.com CALL 911

VICTIM SERVICES

Johnson County Prosecutor’s Office
Victim Witness Advocates Incident Number
479-705-0579

Arkansas Administrative Office of the Courts Domestic
Violence Program -
https://courts.arkansas.gov/administration/domestic-violence Officer

Court Connect helps keep victims informed of court

proceedings and other pertinent information. Contact Information
https://caseinfo.aoc.arkansas.gov/cconnect/PROD/public/ck_pu

blic_qry_main.cp_main_idx




LAURA’S CARD

YOUR RIGHTS

For a complete list of Victim’s Rights, visit:

http://acic.org/citizens/Pages/victimsinfo.aspx#victimRights

http://acic.org/citizens/Documents/CrVicGuideJuly2010.pdf

If you do not have access to the Internet, a copy may be
requested through your local law enforcement agency or
prosecutor’s office.

YOU MUST REOUEST THESE RIGHTS

L.

You have a right to privacy while in all medical facilities and
while seeing medical attention.

You have a right to petition the court for an Order of
Protection:
http://arlegalservices.org/domesticviolence/
http://courts.arkansas.gov/administration/domestic-
violence/video-guides/

You have a right to request the court keep your physical
address and personal telephone number confidential.

You have a right to your own attorney during all court
proceedings.

You have a right to notice of all court proceedings.

You have a right to contact the Prosecutor’s Victims Witness
Coordinator.

You have a right to be present at all hearings where the
defendant is present.

You have a right to reasonable protection before, during, and
after all court proceedings.

If available, you have the right to be provided a separate
waiting area before, during, and after all court proceedings.

Continued...

LAURA’S CARD

LAURA’S CARD

YOU ARE NOT ALONE. IF YOU ARE BEING ABUSED, HELP IS NEAR.

AS A VICTIM, YOU MAY

EXPERIENCE THE FOLLOWING:

1. Shock, disbelief, numbness

2. Change of appetite

3. Change in sleep patterns

4. Guilt, shame and/or self-blame

5. Anxiety/Depression

6. Reliving traumatic event
(unwanted memories of event)

7. Anger

8. Difficulty Concentrating

9. Fatigue

PLAN FOR SAFETY

1. Develop a code that will alert a neighbor/friend to call
the police.

2. Have a bag packed with a change of clothes, important
papers, spare keys, cell phone and cash.

3. Inan emergency, dial 9-1-1!

YOUR RESPONSIBILITIES

e  Visiting ACIC (http://www.acic.org/) for a complete
list of rights

e  Keeping a complete accurate accounting of all
expenses related to the crime

e  Providing law enforcement with up-to-date contact
information

e Victim’s rights are not automatically granted-Request
the rights you want exercised

e  Cooperating with the investigation

CRIME VICTIMS REPARATIONS BOARD
Help for Crime Victims

An innocent victim of a violent crime (including DWI)
may qualify for financial help from the Crime Victims
Reparations Board. This money may help pay for
medical expenses, or other costs related to personal
injuries that were caused by a violent crime.

YOU MAY OUALIFY FOR ASSISTANCE IF:

1. The crime was reported to law enforcement within
72 hours

2. An application for assistance is received within one
year of the date of the crime

3. The victim cooperates with the investigation

4. The victim did not contribute to the crime

For more information, contact your victim witness
coordinator or:

Office of the Attorney General Leslie Rutledge
Tower Building

323 Center Street

Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

(501) 682-1020 or (800) 448-3014

http://arkansasas.gov/programs/criminal-
justice/crime-victim-reparations/




